My First Music Review: I would just like to point out

IMG_1345that the last time Drake dropped a mix tape, I had just seen “Fifty Shades of Grey” “in theaters” with Tiff and Duncan. I fucked up the conversation very badly before we went to bed, but before that everyone was pleased with each other. We agreed that the movie was very boring, and I talked about my thesis (more of a thesette- 25 pgs) and we laid on three separate pieces of furniture and denied the approaching work day and stayed up very late until we all could hear “Legend” at the very same time, in what was then our living room.

It hit me the hardest. Eventually I came to love all of the songs on “If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late,” but I respect deeply the decision (maybe yours, my dear? maybe 40’s?) to start the sequence of tracks with something so physical and so boldly fabricated.

What girl from the South?

What Honda trucks?

Didn’t you say all your lyrics would always be totally true?

I was wholly disarmed. I wish we hadn’t kept talking, but by “Know Yourself” I was careless and chagrined, and crawled to bed to send a facebook message with “so sorry” in it twice. We recovered.

But it took me a long time to get over “Legend,” maybe forever! We were supposed to go out the next night, but I spent a whole hour listening to the song on repeat and straightening my hair until I was too relaxed to do anything but sleep. It’s rarely dipped out of my Top 25 Most Played Songs since February.

Tonight I have once again stayed up too late– about two hours earlier than two late was in winter. We’re so elastic! I don’t want to listen to the first track of “What a Time to Be Alive.” I just want to listen to “Legend.” I’m going to listen to neither. Tomorrow starts a very big week. I’m just saying, I don’t really want another mix tape. I want “Views from the 6,” and if I can’t have it, I’m going to bed.

Leave a comment